Follow My Playlist: If I Had a R&B Music Video Show

Here’s a playlist I started putting together last year but now I have a reason to share it. Thanks to the aforementioned Gonzo I was made aware of the group Phony Ppl out of Brooklyn. Two weeks ago they released Yesterday’s Tomorrow; an album that covers a lot of distance over 15 tracks in under an hour with very laid back R&B vibes, a wide variety of instruments and electronics for a wide variety of moods, and occasional raps that blend perfectly a la Slum Village (also, tell me why that CLASSIC “Selfish” video featuring 2004 versions of Kanye West, John Legend, AND Fonzworth Bentley isn’t on YouTube and/or in The Library of Congress for cultural significance).

Early favorites on Yesterday’s Tomorrow are “HelGa” and “Why iii Love The Moon”; but earlier this week Phony Ppl dropped the video for “Baby, Meet My Lover”, which looked like it was as much fun to shoot as it was for me to watch, and was an automatic add to my playlist: If I Had a R&B Music Video Show.

One thought on “Follow My Playlist: If I Had a R&B Music Video Show

Leave a Reply

