Follow My Playlist: Essential Ludacris

In case you missed it, Ludacris dropped his 9th studio album this year entitled Ludaversal. I added it to my 2015 in Music playlist and the other day the track “Good Lovin” featuring Miguel came up in the shuffle and it put me in a Ludacris mood. I wanted to put it on a playlist so I went ahead and made an Essential Ludacris playlist featuring hits and personal picks from over the last 15 years.

Back For The First Time was Ludacris’ major label debut which gave us “What’s Your Fantasy” and “Southern Hospitality”; but I should have put the entirety of Word of Mouf on there because it’s one of the best rap albums of this century. “Growing Pains”, “Saturday! (Oooh! Ooooh!)”, and “Keep It On The Hush” are all timers, the lead single was “Area Codes”, plus it has one of the best album intros ever. I also rediscovered throwback jams “Diamond In The Back” and “Hoes In My Room” featuring Snoop Dogg from Chicken -n- Beer, and “Spur Of The Moment” from The Red Light District.



One thing I learned putting this playlist together is that Ludacris refuses to rap over a wack beat. He even brings a good beat with him on features like the anthem “Welcome to Atlanta” with Jermaine Dupri, mega hit “Yeah!” with Usher, and slept on “Virgo” with Nas.

So now, should you ever find yourself in a Ludacris mood, you’ve got a playlist for the occasion — that fits just about any occasion.

You can follow me on Spotify here.